National Advisory Council

The Center for Civic Education's National Advisory Council provides insight to Center leadership and staff on strategic issues facing the organization, which includes advice on programming, communications and long-term planning in the national civic and constitutional education space.

The National Advisory Council is composed of leaders spanning a variety of fields, including members of the judiciary, distinguished academics and private-sector leaders, all dedicated to the Center’s mission to develop an enlightened citizenry by working to increase an understanding of the principles, values, institutions and history of constitutional democracy among teachers, students and the general public.


Ken Barnes
CEO, Options for All, San Diego, CA


Robert F. Armao
Chairman and CEO, Armao and Company, Inc., New York, NY

Zelalem Bogale
Adjunct Professor of Race, Law & Criminal Justice at the University of Nevada, Reno and District Coordinator of We the People (CD-2; NV), Reno, NV

Judge Mae D’Agostino
United States District Court Judge, Northern District of New York, Albany, NY

William N. Eskridge, Jr.
John A. Garver Professor of Jurisprudence at Yale Law School

Trish Everett
Political Science & AP Psychology Teacher, Pine Crest School, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Judge Jeremy Fogel
Executive Director of the Berkeley Judicial Institute, former Director of the Federal Judicial Center & United States District Court Judge, Northern District of California, Washington, D.C.

Dr. David R. Goldberg
Educational Scholar & Chairman Emeritus, Lensdrop Inc., New York, NY

Brandon Hasbrouck
Assistant Professor of Law, Washington and Lee University School of Law, Lexington, VA

Susan Jorgensen
We the People teacher, Charleston, SC

Jooho Lee
Assistant Professor of Economics, Pepperdine University, Malibu, CA

Dean Lisa Rosen-Metsch
Dean of the School of General Studies at Columbia University and Professor of Sociomedical Sciences at the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University, New York, NY

Justice Paula A. Nakayama
Senior Justice, Hawaii State Supreme Court, Honolulu, HI

Victoria Nourse
Ralph V. Whitworth Professor of Law at Georgetown University and Executive Director of the Center on Congressional Studies at Georgetown Law, Washington, D.C.

Paul Byron Pattak
CEO, Pi2 Strategies, LLC, Washington, D.C.

Judge Vera Scanlon
United States Magistrate Judge, Eastern District of New York, Brooklyn, NY

Carole Sherrard
CEO, Venona Project, LLC, Washington, D.C.

Jeff Smith
Partner at Greenberg Traurig LLP, Atlanta, GA

Hernandez Stroud
Counsel, Brennan Center for Justice, New York, NY

Danny Yagan
Associate Professor of Economics, University of California at Berkeley, San Francisco, CA


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321


  Media Inquiries:


© Center for Civic Education