## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 22, 2012

## **CONTACT:**

Phil Duncan, Center on Congress at Indiana University (703) 237-1500, pduncan@civicatalyst.com

Maria Gallo, Center for Civic Education (818) 591-9321, gallo@civiced.org

Michelle Hudgins, National Education Association (202) 822-7823, newsdeadline@nea.org

## Applications Welcome Through May 1 for 2012 American Civic Education Teacher Awards

**LOS ANGELES** — May 1 is the application deadline for teachers who wish to be considered for the 2012 American Civic Education Teacher Awards. The application form is at <a href="http://new.civiced.org/community/teachers/civic-ed-awards">http://new.civiced.org/community/teachers/civic-ed-awards</a>.

The awards are given annually to elementary and secondary teachers of civics, government and related fields who have demonstrated exceptional expertise, dynamism and creativity in motivating students to learn about Congress, the Constitution, and public policy.

The ACETA program is jointly sponsored by the Center on Congress at Indiana University, the Center for Civic Education, and the National Education Association

Each year the ACETA program selects and showcases three teachers who are doing exemplary work in preparing young people to become informed and engaged citizens. Applicants must be full-time classroom teachers of grades K–12.

Applications for the 2012 awards must be postmarked no later than Tuesday, May 1. There is no fee to apply. In addition to a two-page self-portrait essay, applicants must submit three letters of recommendation—two from teaching peers and one from their school principal.

The selected teachers will join a distinguished group of 18 prior honorees who have been selected since the program began in 2006. The previous ACETA awardees are as follows:

Jim Bentley (Foulks Ranch Elementary School, Elk Grove, Calif.)

Nate Breen (Cheyenne Central High School, Cheyenne, Wyo.)

Sally Broughton (Monforton Elementary School, Bozeman, Mont.)

Christopher Cavanaugh (Plainfield High School, Plainfield, Ind.)

Cheryl Cook-Kallio (Irvington High School, Fremont, Calif.)

Mary Ellen Daneels (Community High School, West Chicago, Ill.)

Barbara Simpson Ector (Cleveland Middle School, Cleveland, Tenn.)

Kevin Fox (Arcadia High School, Arcadia, Calif.)

Milton Hyams (Incline High School, Incline Village, Nev.)

Cindy Jarrett (Durant Road Elementary School, Raleigh, N.C.)

Tamara Johnson (Kettle Moraine High School, Wales, Wis.)

Julie Kuhnhein (Highlands High School, Fort Thomas, Ky.)

Galelyn McElroy (Central High School Magnet Career Academy, Louisville, Ky.)

Mark Oglesby (Howell High School, Howell, Mich.)

Donna Paoletti Phillips (Robert Frost Middle School, Rockville, Md.)

Sarah Ann Richardson Turpin (Clemson Elementary School, Clemson, S.C.)

Jackie Viana (Hialeah Gardens Middle School, Hialeah Gardens, Fla.)

Gregory Walsh (Falls Church High School, Falls Church, Va.)

## **About the Sponsoring Organizations**

The Center for Civic Education (www.civiced.org) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization dedicated to fostering the development of informed, responsible participation in civic life by citizens committed to values and principles fundamental to American constitutional democracy.

The Center on Congress (www.centeroncongress.org) is a nonpartisan educational institution established in 1999 to help improve the public's understanding of Congress and to encourage civic engagement.

The National Education Association (http://www.nea.org) is the nation's largest professional employee organization, representing 3.2 million elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty, education support professionals, school administrators, retired educators and students preparing to become teachers.